India beat Sri Lanka by an innings and 171 runs, win the biggest series in 85 years

The Indian cricket team defeated Sri Lanka by an innings and 171 runs in the third and final Test match at the Palekele International Stadium. With this, India has taken the series 3-0. India has won two times in this series by an innings margin. The second Test was also won by India’s margin of innings. In its cricket history of 85 years, India has cleared any team out of their country for the first time in a three-match series.

In the second innings, Ashwin took four wickets for India in the second innings and the same Shami 3 and Umesh got two successes. Kuldeep was also successful in taking a wicket. Kuldeep took five wickets in this match. India defeated Sri Lanka by 304 runs in the first Test played at Gaul. Subsequently, in Colombo, he defeated the host’s team by an innings and 53 runs and took the series to his name. This was India’s first victory with an innings difference in Sri Lanka.

After this India went to the candy and batting first by winning the toss in the third Test, Shikhar Dhawan (119), Lokesh Rahul (85) and his first hundred in the career of Hardik Pandya (108) Scored 487 in the innings.

India chased down Sri Lanka’s first innings on 135 for the best performance of their bowlers led by Kuldeep Yadav (40-4) and forced them to follow. Sri Lanka was reduced to 181 runs before the second session ended on the second day of the third day. With this, India has equaled Australia’s record by winning nine consecutive series since 2015. Between 2005 and 2008 Australia had consistently won nine series.

The Sri Lankan team, following on the follow-on, scored 19 runs on the second day on a wicket. On Monday, the hosts were on the verge of collapse, with the hosts losing 82 for four at the end of the first session. Three batsmen, Dimuth Karunaratne (19), Malinda Pushpakumara (1) and Kaushal Mendis (12) were out for lunch. Upul Tharanga (7) was dismissed in the last session of the second day.

Captain Dinesh Chandimal (36) and Angelo Mathews (35) tried to take control of the team with 65 runs in the second session, but Kuldeep caught Chandimal at the hands of Cheteshwar Pujara, taking a bigger form Earlier this partnership was stopped.

After that Ravichandran Ashwin smashed Matthews out and hit Sri Lanka’s sixth blow. Niron Dikewela (41) then tried to handle Sri Lanka’s innings but batsman Dilruwan Perera (8) and Syeda Sandakan (8), who came with the other side, could not stay on the field for much longer. Ashwin reached Perera and Shanki was sent to Pavilion by Sandwin.

Umesh Yadav, on the one hand, handled the hosts for a duck with Dikewela caught by Rahane at the score of 168 and nicked the hosts’ ninth wicket. Ashwin then sent Lahiru Kumara (10) to the pavilion as well as put Sri Lanka’s innings on 181.